Looking For Alaska – Movie

So by now I assume all of you have heard that “Looking for Alaska” (the novel by John Green) is going to be made into a movie adaption. Yes, that means that both Paper Towns AND Looking for Alaska are being made into movies!

I am not really sure how I feel about this. It all seems very sudden. The clear thought running through all of our heads is… “don’t f*** it up”. For me, I don’t really think it’s the kind of book I want turned into a movie. I think it will be very difficult for the producers to create. Paper Towns, I think they might be able to just pull off. Truthfully, I don’t believe either of these films will be as good as the TFIOS movie, but I still think they will both be well-done.

Also, LFA (Looking for Alaska) has some more adult themes than the other John Green books. This may raise the rating of this film, and the limit the audience that goes to see it.

Looking for Alaska…I kinda just want it to stay a book. But hey, it could still be an amazing movie. After all, it was an amazing book.

Your thoughts? Comment below.

2 thoughts on “Looking For Alaska – Movie

  1. Imogen says:

    I thought the same thing! When I heard about LFA being made into a movie I just didn’t think it was a book that could successfully be made into a movie and I sort of just want to have the book. I also thought the same with the rating and I hope they don’t change it to fit a younger audience because that will ruin the story. Oh well, let’s hope they do well with it!

  2. Sasha says:

    I think the book is fine staying purely as a book, without any adaptations created around it.
    I think the fan base would grow for john green, but fans may be disappointed by unmet expectations when seeing the movie after reading the book. In LFA, there is a suspense in the way the chapters are structured (e.g 154 days before) and I feel like the movie would be lacking without this. I would definitely see the movie but I think that I would probably be disappointed…

Leave a Reply

