“Legend” Review!

images

This is my written review of “Legend”, because I am sure that some of you rather reading written reviews than watching videos. I will shortly be uploading a YouTube video of this review, using the same points in this review, so you can view either or. Don’t worry; there are no spoilers in this review!

I just finished reading the New York Times bestseller “Legend” by Marie Lu. May I just say; this is definitely one of the best dystopian novels I have read so far! If you’re into the Divergent series by Veronica Roth and The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, than you will love this! Of course, it’s a completely different story, but it is just as enjoyable!

First of all, I just have to give a salute to Marie Lu for being the author of such an incredible novel. The characters in this were very realistic, so much so that I felt that I could almost touch them. It was very interesting for me to read the story from two different perspectives, that of June and Day. I’m embarrassed to say that throughout the entire book I was trying to choose whom I liked better out of the two, but in the end I just couldn’t. They are both characters that I have absolutely fallen in love with, and I can’t wait to read more about them in the rest of the series!

The plot line in this novel was super awesome. It flashes back between different realities, that of the streets and then that of June’s world of careful statuses. Some of my favourite kinds of books are books about breaking free, or about breaking out of captivity. I love experiencing that kind of freedom that the characters feel. It’s very invigorating and refreshing, especially when you look around your room and realize that your life isn’t nearly as interesting. “Legend” is one of those types of books, which capture a sense of freedom, and it was very enjoyable. The story line was very well written and definitely left me wanting more. It’s also a very surprising novel, I mean, throughout the entire book I was just sitting there going “well this is awesome” and now and then, something would catch me completely off guard, and I would find myself staring at the page asking, “wait, what’s happening now”. It’s nice when a book has those kind of unexpected surprises.

“Doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it.” ~New York Times

If you would like to hear a longer review of Legend, please check out my upcoming YouTube review, which will be uploaded shortly, probably either tonight or tomorrow. I will be going more in-depth with the characters and story line, and reviewing and analyzing it more. I hope you enjoyed this quick little review! If you yourself would like to read the book, go check it out! And also, this is a trilogy, and the next two books are named “Prodigy” and “Champion”, which just released in November. I am very excited to read these next two books, and I hope that you are too!

Leave a Reply

