Fan Cover or Official Cover?

tumblr_mt6p3c7aJH1qjdqbzo1_500cohf-cover-photo

As we all know, the City of Heavenly Fire book cover was released just the other day. I love Cassie for keeping us fans excited by giving us spoilers and all sorts of hints to keep us guessing. But do we like the fan covers or the official cover better? I’m not sure how to feel about the real cover. It definitely has all sorts of hidden meaning to it, but frankly, for something that I’ve been waiting for for so long, I’m a little bit disappointed. It wasn’t as attractive and appealing appearance wise as I thought it would be. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure it represents the book inside fantastically, and of course what the book cover looks like doesn’t mean anything, but I was hoping for an AMAZING cover for the final book, not just something that makes me shrug my shoulders and say “eh, it’s alright.” I feel that the cover could have been a lot more physically appealing, and I do not think that it was as beautiful as the other covers in the series.

However, some of these fan covers are amazing! I guess they got my hopes up a bit too much, because I was expecting something like the images above. If I had to choose between the fan covers and the official cover, I’d probably have to choose the fan covers because though people say not to judge a book by its cover, it’s great to get drawn in by a beautiful cover that really catches your eye in the bookstore.

The first fan cover above made by Carmen (@homeofnephilim) is absolutely fantastic and it also seems to convey so much hidden meaning. The city seems to be burning, which sets the theme for City of Heavenly Fire. Clary and Jace hold each other as the world burns, as if they cling to the only stable things left in their lives.

If it came down to it, which would you choose? Comment below.

 

Leave a Reply

